Sweet potato and black bean burrito

In recipe on November 10, 2010 at 3:03 pm

When I read some of my favorite cooking blogs, many of the writers I most admire frequently mention how they’re inspired by something fresh and beautiful at the farmer’s market, and then come home to create a seasonal, lovely dish.

I’m usually inspired to cook by what’s moldering in my fridge. Take the other week – I had a whole bag of sweet potatoes (the orange ones, and I always forget  if they are actually yams) that had been hanging out for I couldn’t remember how long. I had been roasting them, which is delicious but gets old fast. So I decided to stick them into a burrito.

Note: to cut the recipe time, it is totally possible to peel, cube and cook the sweet potato the day before. It will make your total cooking time a lot faster.

Sweet potato and black bean burritos

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped – optional
  • whole-wheat soft burritos
  • avocado
  • sour cream
  • chopped queso fresco
  • chopped lettuce
  • salsa
  • chopped cilantro (for garnish) – optional
  1. Boil a pot of water. Cook sweet potatoes until soft but still retaining their shape (15 to 20 minutes).
  2. Over a medium-high flame, heat olive oil. Cook white onion until soft (4 minutes). Add sweet potatoes, black beans, cumin and jalapeno, if using. Mix and turn heat down to cook for another 8 minutes or so. Don’t overstir, or sweet potatoes will start to fall apart.
  3. Heat burritos in oven. Add sweet potato/black bean mixture, top with avocado, sour cream, queso fresco, lettuce, salsa and cilantro (as needed).
  4. Pat yourself on the back for remembering to use those sweet potatoes!
  1. This was soooo so good. I wish I was eating one right now.

Leave a Reply

